Tell me more about atompunk. How did it start? How far along are you?

How far along are you?
Well I have the mechanics sorted, a little teaser art, the principal and the card ideas. As far as “I want teh game now plz!” goes: I am currently squeezing cards into the gaps where we need them to make it a kick ass and fun co-op or solo game. Best timing I can give you is:
Kickstarter launch forecafor for 2012 so we miss the christmas rubbish and get on track when everyone gets back in the new year.

I want to see more of this game
https://cogentesque.wordpress.com – develpoment blog
http://www.purplepawn.com/2011/10/atompunk/ – purple pawn.com writeup (will be in 3 parts)
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/703701 – “Card suggestion” Thread
Google Docs Secret Code Holders Only Link – entire card list

What has inspired you to make this?
Long answer: Well I love games. I could get into a big ol’ story here about how my father used to dungeon master at D&D (version 2) back when me and my brother were about 6 years old, we then went on to be home-made games fans and went straight into some ccgs like MtG and pokemon, while playing every pc game that was ever invented (nearly). Always been into games, the original GTA series (proper Gta!), Ataris featured heavily – no consoles mind. I was part of a pretty big Eve alliance back when it wasn’t so big, was one of the first high level chars in City of Heroes, recently gave up our mining corporation in Perpetuum online etc – always been into all forms of games.
Recently a little game was released by Bethesda, I’m not sure if you know it? Called Fallout 3 (^^) and all of its bugged-to-hell DLC packs . Anyway, I LOVED the original isometric fallouts – to bits. I learned how to play “I don’t want to set the world on fire” by the inkspots on my guitar back when the second one came out: loved it. So anyway, it’s suddenly become super popular! As an aside, I go LARPing quite regularly in the UK and all of the LARP guys are quite into whatever ‘alt’ culture they can get their hands on. Currently this extends to the wave of Steampunk going on (You heard of The Clockwork Quartet? -some of them are my Larp dudes!) so this is exploding currently, and it’s kind of eating up a lot of different ____punk cultures as well. Cyberpunk, diselpunk, steampunk, squidpunk etc. Well the other day I decided that I was going to make an app for the android platform – a quick building rpg about nomadic cavemen done in a comicy style – like mafia wars but less lame. So I did LOADS of research into this, have a big ‘ol “treatment” to put to it still, but I was stumped when I realised “Sam, you can code websites, you can do marketing … but you cannot yet produce java code” so I figured I would leave it for a while. But in my big research for finding out the histories of games (for this app) I fell back into boardgames. That’s where all of these games we play come from right: german / euro boardgames! cool! I better learn about them! – And so joined up here and started my collection. Then I took my “I want to produce an app game” idea and went back and back in the history of games and thought: well logically, I should start at the start – lets make a boardgame then! Why the hell decorate it with cheap graphics, dirty screens and plastic keyboards, lets do it properly as a paper and card board game and make it pure and simple like we used to! So I had coffee with a good Friend of mine and I asked him to listen to my ideas and we came to a lovely conclusion of the basic mechanic for AtomPunk. As an aside (to this already lengthy aside) my main LARP character is a jokey, Borat-like used-car-salesman Arabic Desert Trader, trading in used Camels and Camel time shares going up and down the desert in his Camel Caravan. Caravan.

Caravan.
Caravan+Fallout.
Caravan+Fallout+Make a Game.
Caravan+Fallout+Make a Game+___Punk.
Caravan+Fallout+Make a Game+___Punk+Explore Themes.

=AtomPunk

Have you thought of stuff like Six-String Samurai as inspiration
No I have never seen this film, it sounds cool though – I love samurai, ninja, oriental kungfu action films. I like legend of the drunken master best! Jackie ftw. Stuff that I am really happy to have seen as I create the AtomPunk world: Firefly, Star Trek, Spaghetti Westerns, The Book of Eli, Tank Girl, Firefly, The Fifth Element, Escape from New York and Firefly.

I love the art work shown
Well I am super lucky here. I have managed to get to speak to GREAT artists. The theme is kick ass and fun to design for! I am always trying to speak to some great great people too. To give you an idea though – currently I have sent 108 messages out at Deviantart.com asking for artists – it’s hard work ^^

Maybe you can do a Rosie Riveter-esque picture
Yes that’s it! Ok genre-man gogo!: “Retro-future, raygun-gothic, pin-up glam, post-apoc, wasteland, nomadic, dystopian future, ‘save the homesteaders’, western” so basically exactly Rosie, but with a futuristic twist. Hmm. Perhaps a robotic arm! Yeah, cyber arm but still, really sweet and lovely in a bathing suit with a gorgeous smile and great big eyes! She’ll be like rosie riveter: an ideal, a concept. Like “lady luck” is the manifestation of a harsh luck-of-the-draw world that we live in. In much the same way that Franklin is the persona of greed “All about the Benjamins”. Ours? We’ll call her Jenny. She is what the wasteland needs. The wastelands ideal. Everyone is bitter and twisted in this harsh and unforgiving wateland. Just living is a hard battle. The game is only about “getting somewhere” remember, killing monsters is not the goal, it is just to protect your caravan and your crew. AtomPunk is just about “living” and moving-on in these treacherous lands. People are helpless to change the hedious circumstances that brought us here: to this nuclear fallout. They can do nothing other than survive. But it’s ok, because when all of this is done, and the long journey is over, I’ll be in the caring arms of a sweet, homely, genuine woman. She’ll have a gorgeous smile, wonderful bright eyes and she will pour me all of the cool water I can drink. I’ll be in Jenny’s arms…

AtomPunk Poster - Jenny's Water

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

